Home

IMG-20171022-WA0044

I am an urban nomad,

I have no home.

The place I used to call home,

Is now a distant memory.

Dibrugarh was once my home,

A tranquil paradise in Assam where I grew up in,

Amongst lush tea gardens I lived in,

And the waters of the Brahmaputra adorned.

A quaint town where time stopped,

Where I blossomed from a child to a teenage girl,

With pretty frocks and skirts that twirl,

Until skirts gave away to the denims of the world.

It wasn’t long before I was gone,

From the place of my birth, the foundation of my core,

In the name of ambition I was thrust,

Into another reality, another town.

14 years have passed since that time,

Many a city have I moved in the look out for material honey,

Sometimes for studies , sometimes for money,

A displaced urban nomad have I become.

Dibrugarh is not my home anymore

Home is now an utopian dream,

As I want to be society’s  crème de la crème,

In return my identity have I lost.

The only treasure I’ve gained is independence,

My spirit roams in carefree abandon,

My head and heart in tandem,

Maybe this movement is my new home.

 

 

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Sidharth says:

    I really like the imagery that you crafted with your creative thoughts and skillful usage of words, thanks for sharing such a wonderful post! According to your convenience please do read some of my writings would love to know what you think about them 😊

    Like

    1. Kalyani says:

      Thanks a lot 🙂 I’ll surely read and let you know.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sidharth says:

        Thanks for accepting & respecting my invitation, please feel free to explore any of my writings whenever you feel like 😀

        Like

  2. Gourav Dutta says:

    wow.the picture, the words…they work in a perfect harmony 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment